Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My Kimika and her bad habit
My dog loves people! I mean she REALLY LOVES PEOPLE!

When people come over she jumps all over them.

Is there any tips that I could use to stop her from jumping on people?

How old is she??

You can always teach an old dog new tricks, it just takes longer.

You could take the long hard route of treats and training her.

or you could get a water shock collar, when she does it you press the button and it sprays water at her..... its humane but i dont like them.

I am a qualified dog trainer in my job so i would recomend the long method only coz its the best way.

watch an episode of The Dog Whisperer on tv if poss, he is amazing with dogs,

a tip he teaches is treat your dog if it miss behaves like your the dogs mother ! a mother dog will grab (not hard) or will pin the dog down with its mouth on the loose skin on the back / side of the dogs neck to teach it if its doin wrong -if your dog is jumping on people form a claw with your hand then with minimal pressure grab the loose skin at the side or/back of the neck and push the dog away or pin down for a few seconds - do not say the dogs name as they associate their name with good things - the dog will lay there as if its mother has pinned it and will relax very quick (must be an isnstinct thing), you'll have to do this a few times before the dog gets its but eventually will see you coming with your hand ready and should cease and stop jumping at the person, thats as brief as i can get it in a chat box - this is what the dog trainer on tv shows - it not my invention so no phoning the RSPCA on me anyone..i love animals especially dogs - it does work though

matty7 Wrote:watch an episode of The Dog Whisperer on tv if poss, he is amazing with dogs,