Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Newly out looking for help
Hey guys, so obviously I'm new to the forum, and I'm looking for some life help. I'm a college sophomore at a really liberal and gay university who recently accepted his desires. I'm only out to a few friends, but I've started going to a few gay themed meetings and it feels like just a matter of time. (which doesn't mean I'm not afraid). I hope you'll understand what I mean though when I say that accepting it I feel I've cleared a hurdle already if I'm not exactly out yet. Honestly, I think I'm just going to do things that make it pretty obvious and when my friends ask I'll say yes. The thought of that makes me happy.

Anyway, I have two problems. One is that as I wasn't out at all as a freshman or first semester sophomore, I'm not really part of the gay crowd. I was talking to some other (out) guys today and they were gossiping a lot, and I guess I'm pretty intimidated by how I can get my name out there. Any advice? I feel like I've lost time and I want to be a part of it.

My other problem has to do with this guy who's on my sports team. I think he's gay and I think he likes me. His facebook status is ambiguous and last semester one of my other friends on the team (who isn't gay and doesn't know if I am) asked if this boy I'm interested was gay and I said no and I asked why he asked. He said he 'just got vibes.' The same night (the night after I friended him on facebook, so the same night he saw that my status is also ambiguous) we were at a party together and he touched me on the lower back and said "Hey Buddy." Nothing happened though.

I'm not sure how to proceed. I've had dinner with him, but ostensibly just because "I wanted to hang out." I also sort of get vibes. And we text pretty often now, not exactly flirtatiously, but he always jokes and answers at lengths. I really like him and I'm very very tired of just hoping something will happen for me. Any advice?

Thanks so much
cb