Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Are you thinking of switching jobs/careers?
if so, what would you switch to and why?

Discuss.

I have thought about it before but it wouldn't be a switch so much as focusing on one thing.
I work as an independent consultant for game companies (miniatures, cards, that sort of thing), I also paint for a living. Commission work mostly, occasionally for exhibits or whatnot.
I have wanted to go to just one or the other, but they are so radically different that I have a hard time choosing. Probably keep at them both for now Smile

I wasted the first 6 years of my adult life on higher education. I earned the right to be called 'Doctor' a long time ago. No not a medical doctor (I do have some minor medical training though), I got myself a demon, erm, I mean D.Min (doctorate of ministry) in the pursuit of be coming a man of the church, erm I mean man of God - no I was fascinated with the Religion not the Deity.

Around age 25 I dropped out of ministry. While I went on to apply my minor medical knowledge a bit for a short span, I ultimately picked up a hammer and started working with wood again.

Of course having a D.Min looked good for the volunteer work I did. Back in the day when men of the collar were considered respectable, before the Catholic Priesthood was turned out as pedophiles..... Rolleyes

Ironically (sort of) I did construction work to work through college and university. I looked at that sort of work as a stepping stone, a means to the ends of getting some sheepskin and getting into something which I considered to be 'better than' being a mere laborer.

However it is the thing I turned to and pretty much discovered that it was my first (perhaps only) love when it comes to what I like to do.