Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Covering letters!
It feels like all i'm talking about is jobs these days.

Anyway following on from my not so successful job interview on Friday, i'm now applying for a different position, however it requires a CV and covering letter as opposed to the online application form i'm used to.

I've never done a covering letter before, and i'll be honest i don't really know where to start. I've found a lot of examples online, but i was wondering if anyone had any excellent tips or ideas as to how i could make it good?

To be honest in my covering letters I've basically said I would like to apply for job X, as advertised in Y, please find my enclosed CV, if you have any queries don't hesitate to contact me. Obviously, including address, email and phone number as well as all the other niceties of a formal letter.

But who knows, maybe I've been doing it wildly wrong.
Fred

Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans.

Look on google for examples of cover letters that suit you best.

A cover letter is a basic paragraph about why your the best candidate for the position and your strengths.

Sure!

Taylor both your CV and cover letter to the position you are applying for, outlining any relevant experience you feel makes you suitable for that position.

A lot also depends on weather you are applying speculatively (i.e. enquiring if there are any vacancies within that organization they feel you may be suitable for) or for a specific roll, or if the roll is a professional one or not. Your C.V. should be no more than two pages of A4 in 11 - 12 point Times New Roman, Areal or similar.

Include only your last 5 years work history and use bullet points rather than lengthy sentences.

How long do you have?

Can you take advantage of one of the free professional job seeker advise agencies like A4e?