Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Getting hit on by a girl...anyone feel uncomfortable?
I recently started a new job where a girl who works in another department further away from my building (thankfully) is clearly hitting on me. Not in a *sexual harassment* kind of way but she is making it very obvious she is interested.

I haven't stated my sexuality at work. I don't necessarily hide it from people I know but I don't announce it either. Because I am masculine most people simply assume I'm straight and have a tendency to ask whether or not I have a girlfriend and I just reply with, "no".

Should I befriend them further to a point of trust. When the topic of relationships comes up I'll bring up the fact that I'm gay.

This isn't the first time I've gotten hit on by a girl and it won't be the last but it's very, very uncomfortable for me.

But the second girl is not easy to shake off. I'm tempted to let her know I'm not into women but because I'm new at this worksite and would rather not have the extra attention from office gossip.

Another part of me is just screaming at the world. If I were straight I'd be one of the happiest men alive. These girls are very attractive. Why can't these girls just be guys?

I haven't had a guy chase me in over a year...Not even one (unless its for sex) but I'd really rather date. The universe is messing with me and it's not funny. =/

To me this seems similar to straight men being uncomfortable about gay men hitting on them. Get over it and just tell them you're not interested. If need be, insist that they stop. People flirt and are rejected all the time. It's when they go beyond that when it becomes a problem. Then you should treat it as harassment.