Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Here’s why deadly viruses are on the rise in Africa

http://qz.com/276617/first-ebola-now-mar...a&ns_fee=0
"You can be young without money but you can't be old without money"
Maggie the Cat from "Cat on a Hot Tin Roof." by Tennessee Williams

You know I was supposed to go help with the spread in Africa, but now this is getting scarier by the minute. it doesn't matter if I'm a doctor and i'd take all possible precautions it seems that it would get to me anyway. And what you just post scared the shit out of me now (well I guess I can be fucked now lol). I'm staying and help the kids here instead. Fuck that shit!

Alex Wrote:You know I was supposed to go help with the spread in Africa, but now this is getting scarier by the minute. it doesn't matter if I'm a doctor and i'd take all possible precautions it seems that it would get to me anyway. And what you just post scared the shit out of me now (well I guess I can be fucked now lol). I'm staying and help the kids here instead. Fuck that shit!

As the articles says, most African countries simply don't have the facilities to be able to isolate those infected let alone treat them.
"You can be young without money but you can't be old without money"
Maggie the Cat from "Cat on a Hot Tin Roof." by Tennessee Williams

There are so many terrifying diseases there. The worst one that comes to mind is a parasite you can catch if you fall into the Volta River (or even dip your hand in it and then drip some of its water on your food or otherwise allow it entry into your body) and it causes your stomach to bloat out as the parasites multiply and blood comes out of all your orifices. Can't recall the name of it offhand. (ETA: okay, it's schistosomiasis, but that link doesn't go into all the gory details of a report I read in which explorers contracted it.)