Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I'm also a writer... Lesbian Romance research
Hey all!

I've been a member of a romance writers' chapter for years. Even though I've mostly been a SF/F writer, they've humored me and kept me around. Now that I've come to terms with things, it seems pretty obvious why I haven't connected to the genre... M/F romance has been a turnoff for me. Hot scenes are easy to write, but everything around it is tough, because the emotional oomph isn't there.

That said, I'm unfamiliar with lesbian romance. I don't want to start reading it now, exactly, because I want what I write to be fresh. On the other hand, I feel a bit lost. Are there particular aspects that drive f/f romance that are unique, aside from the obvious?

Also, from a marketing standpoint, where do you get most of your reading in this genre? Electronic, indie, Amazon, novels vs. short stories vs. novellas, self-published, etc. Are there leading authors in the genre?

Finally, are you more likely to buy from an author using a normal sounding name, or a special pen name (like Silver WinterMoon)?

Thank you in advance! Also, any typos are the iPad's fault! Darn thing. ;-)

Or maybe I should stick with my steampunk novel? Wink

I write fan fiction, and I do hetero, m/m, f/f and every other possible partnership. I tend to go with m/m being the most aggressive, fast paced, quickest building romance, f/f a close second, but not so aggressive and in your face "I want you now" sort of thing and, hetero being the ones with the most misunderstandings, and slowest moving.

I get a lot of positive feedback. Mostly telling me it's pretty accurate, but sometimes wanting the m/m to be a bit less aggressive, gentler. Yeah in reality it would be, but this is fiction and, you can't put all the mush in there Smile