Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Japanese literature
I need help with recommendations for quality Japanese literature/authors. There are so many works out there, that maybe there is someone here who is better knowledgeable in the field to help me wade through them ( [MENTION=20738]TwisttheLeaf[/MENTION] maybe?, I know you're not Japanese, but you're closer; [MENTION=15656]Sylph[/MENTION] seems to have a Japanese influence as well, though I'm not sure how well he knows their literature?).

I am already acquainted with Natsume Soseki (Kokoro), and Kenzaburo Oe (The Silent Cry). I also know of Yukio Mishima (Forbidden Colors is on my list), and Yasunari Kawabata (just bought The Lake).

I am new to Japanese literature, but I have to say I love how it's not story-driven at all (at least from what I've read so far). The very defining characteristic, and a very attractive one at that, is that the details of the stories don't matter. It's driven by the unconscious mainly, or the subconscious makeup, processes and associations of one or more characters. This is something I can be interested in. In contrast, invented stories and plot lines are boring to me (in other words, what the Western literature is currently doing), unless they are moving pictures and well made ones. So I have discovered that Japanese literature fits my mind.

I'd like to hear back from you guys if you have any experience with it, and if you do, what books/authors you liked, and what you would recommend. It doesn't have to be a discussion only revolving around educating me, your own personal viewpoints, and feedback would be appreciated.

Another thing -- with the exception of Mishima, all of the authors I mentioned use heterosexual characters/relationships in their works, and I would also like to know if there were some names or works that used homosexual characters/relationships primarily. (Saikaku Ihara is already in my library). If you knew any homosexual titles I'd appreciate that as well.