Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Leadership problems at work
Ok guys here's a weird question.

I'm a high school teacher in Portugal and this year one of my tasks was to direct a professional course (9 students, ages 16-20); this involved directing a weekly work meeting with all the teachers of the course (9 teachers) and things didn't go well in the last few meetings. In fact, it was awful: some teachers supported me but others were incredibly rude, there was no trust and some even tried to sabotage my work!

I'm trying to understand what went wrong exactly.

Working conditions were dreadful, I had to work overtime (almost 200 hours and no extra pay!) and I had no time whatsoever to prepare those meetings. Maybe I shouldn't have accepted all these tasks (believe me, the amount of work was absurd!) but my legal situation is precarious and I can't really say 'no'.

Moreover there were many unexpected problems (e.g. one of the students became homeless, one of the teachers skipped classes for almost three months and the school decided in the last minute that all internships required an insurance).

I was often naiv and had many doubts and hesitations but my decisions turned out to be the right ones.

All internships started and ended on time, they were close to the students' homes and none of them had to spend money on bus tickets, all our students completed the course with good grades, there were no discipline problems, I was able to get the insurances in less than two days and I was even able to find a home for the homeless student!

The last meeting was actually very good and everyone agreed that I'd done a good job - some of the 'rebels' actually looked frustrated!!

Here's what I've learned on how to direct a work meeting:

a) Preparation is essential but I didn't really have a choice here

b) Never discuss anything, problems should already be solved when you raise them in a meeting

c) Give your colleagues the least amount of work possible