Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tough to discuss
This is a very difficult subject for me to discuss. I am new to this web site and it took a long time to decide to be open about a struggle I deal with. I am trusting that this site is what it claims to be. I don't need to hear the obvious recommendations that the greater society believes in. What I am having trouble with has been handled with counseling and discussions with very close and trusted family members and friends. However, it is still a problem that I am looking for solutions to.

I am 66 and from an early age, I have dealt with being selective in who I am attracted to. I have a selfish desire to be attracted to physical appearance more than what is inside the person and who they are. As a younger man, this was less of a problem because I was considered pretty good looking myself and had no problems with finding relationships with guys that were not focused on being long term soul mates. This worked for me. I have not really ever desired to invest my emotions and commitment into building a close and personal relationship. I like the freedom of being with who I wanted to be with and not getting too involved. This was not so good for some of the people I was involved with who thought they could change me and wanted to invest more of themselves into building a relationship with me that was just not going to happen.