Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Internet friends
How well do you know people on the internet compared to in your physical life?

Do you think you can learn more about a person… given the personal information we can give about ourselves or learn less as we have more time to place words to portray them how we wish or even inacurately?

Do you feel affection to your internet friends and think about them? (what do you think)

In regards to this forum or any forum you go to and other social media

Although there are a lot of people I enjoy talking to online, I guess I'd only say I have one actual internet friend. I see your point about people being more willing to be honest online, but I've noticed that a lot of people lie. They lie very obviously about scenarios that are way too naive and idealized to have ever happened. I'm not sure what they stand to gain from doing so but eh...

There's this one guy I've been talking to on and off for almost around 2 years now. He's pretty cool actually, and he lives in Glasgow so, I don't know, in a way I wonder if I'll ever meet him once I go there.

Anybody can lie. Lies are more prone to the internet, because you are "hidden" via the internet.

It is more difficult to hide things face to face, as you can see and hear tone inflection, facial expression, and body language, which can give lies away.

Over technological devices, it's so easy to get anyone to fall in love with you, if you are a player.

Why do you think SO many people have problems when finally meeting someone they met online? They claim they did not look or "sound" like the person they got to "know" over the internet.

It's difficult enough to get to know someone in real life.........you are just fooling yourself if you believe everything that is said to you online.

Not sure how to answer that, but here are some observations: