Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dropped out of university, parents hate me now
So few days ago I dropped out of university on my own ( I'm 22). I realized I don't like what I'm studying and I didn't want to waste my time on it anymore. My parents made me to study philology, but actually I never wanted to do it myself. Both of my parents have bachelor degrees and they obviously cannot even imagine their son not having one.

I had to study 4 years, I finished the third year with lots of failed exams and just decided to take my documents out of there. Maybe some of you may think it's foolish to give up, but I just couldn't stand it anymore. I want to get some profession and get a job.

When they found out then were furious. I'm now a traitor, a thief of the family money, mentally ill, etc. Now they're both kind of giving me a silent treatment and I feel horrible when I'm at home. I feel a lot better when I'm outside the house, just walking somewhere. And when I get home, they're yelling again "where were you wandering, start studying!" I'm feeling kind of depressed, I've lost my appetite and feel the need to cry all the time. Sometimes I even think about suicide.

I can understand them a bit, probably they had big hopes on me. But I just want to work, no matter where, just work. Any job is better than this studying crap. Will they ever get over their anger?

I believe they will eventually get over the anger. I think uni isn't right for everyone, and after 3 years you kinda know if it is right or not! If you were failing and had to re-sit but didn't feel any passion for it then leaving seems to be right. You have to take everything they are throwing at you with a pinch of salt, as it is the initial anger thats overcome them. You know you are none of the above - just don't let it eat away at you.