Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Stuck in the mud
Hi, I am new to GaySpeak, but I came out earlier this year to a very supportive bunch of family and close friends. I am happy with my decision but since coming out I do not know what to do next!

Should I go to a club, a date site to meet others like me, not knowing anybody who has gone through this I am really frustrated at this and am shy - so not helping matters, I fully appreciate that.

Effectively I am looking for a relationship and getting to know the gay community better, hopefully obtaining an additional friendship circle in the process. People have said to ask my friends to go with me to a club/bar but I feel I am putting them out basically any help/advice is appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Welcome!

One CAN meet potential friends and boyfriends pretty much anywhere, but I've never considered a club to be a great place for that. They're usually loud and dark, and most people go there with friends, and they tend to sit in their own "circle". Not to be exclusionary, mind you, but if you went to a (straight) club with a bunch of friends, you'd probably tend to hang out with them, too, rather than walk around looking for new people to meet. That's just human nature.

Feel free to go to a club, if you'd like. But if you do, go with the right attitude. Expect nobody to approach you. Feel free to sort of look around and take it in. If you do see other "solos", walk up and say hello, if you feel you can.

I usually suggest somebody in your position check to see if there's a good "gay social club" to join. My city isn't exactly huge, but we've got gay biking clubs, gay hiking clubs, gay volleyball groups, gay swim groups, gay volunteer groups, gay gardening clubs, you name it. If you live in a smaller town, you may need to go to next big town over for that. Google "(city name) gay (activity)" and see if anything comes up. Joining a group like this gives you not one but two areas of common ground. Smile

Lex