Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
recommend some good jazz music
i have zero knowledge of jazz. i don't like it, i'll never understand it, and that's that. but i have a friend who really loves it and listens to it...his birthday is coming up and i am thinking about maybe getting some jazz artists for him...as uncomfortable as i am with gifting music i have no acquaintance with.

it's a thought. i might not go through with it, and i might decide to get him something else, but i am asking anyone who has a decent knowledge of jazz music to recommend me something, just so i'd have this option. something that would be high quality music like Paganini is high quality in violin, like Guns'n'Roses is high quality in rock music, like John Fogerty is high quality in roots rock and rock and roll...something along those standards in jazz is what i'm looking for.

i think [MENTION=18508]East[/MENTION] made a thread about jazz? do you have any ideas?
''Do I look civilized to you?''

Hey meridian!.....

Jazz is really extensive as far as different styles go.....

Do you know anything about what he does like?

Maybe find something you like...and give him that? I think you said once you didn't really like jazz...or maybe I am wrong?

Here is the thread...if I am around I try to add something every day....

Maybe put it on in the background when he is around and see what he likes...and then it will be easy to give you a good recommend!

https://gayspeak.com/showthread.php?t=36955

The tough part about something like this is finding something he (1) will like but (2) doesn't already own. I'll haphazardly suggest Russell Gunn's "Ethnomusicology Volume 2" (or any of them, really), but only if he's open to somebody trying something a bit different.

Lex

East Wrote:Do you know anything about what he does like?

Maybe find something you like...and give him that? I think you said once you didn't really like jazz...or maybe I am wrong?