Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fraternity... Uh oh.
So long story short, I am bisexual but in love with my boyfriend and we've been together a year now and have been in hiding the whole time. I am a sophomore in college and I am on the executive board of my fraternity. Last month, word got out that I'm gay and now everyone knows/knows through rumors. As a leader of my fraternity, I have no idea what to do.

I have had a few people come to me with support, but I know there are people that will say "fraternities are for straight guys only, GTFO." Sadly. The other issue I've thought about is social issues... where sororities won't want to hang out with us because there's a gay kid. The other issue... people wanting me to step down from my position because the exec board is supposed to be the "face" of the fraternity. I'm just all mixed up now...

In short, I don't know how to approach the situation in an appropriate way so I can essentially gain acceptance of who I am to my brothers. All advice is appreciated. Thank you in advance everyone!!

tell them if they dont want to be pledges again and get thier hands glued to thier asses then shut up

You have to be tough. Stick out for yourself. As an exec, you must have some leadership skills so I think you know how to do that.
I am a member of one of the most important organization on my campus also and I am out to the whole organization My organization supposes to represent the whole school and my school is homophobe ( we just hit the national news for that ).
But what I did is I gather people who I know will provide me support for who I am instead of which orientation I have.
After getting enough people you know that will support you then use "diversity", good cause", "love", "no hate" and all of these fancy words to give a decent speech to gain more support. Use tragic events like suicidal kids to create "rally around the flag" effect. Be loud and proud. Tell whoever goes against you to FO.