Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Anti-depressants: Opinions, Experiences, ETC.
Been talking with my GP about going on Anti-depressants; it's a last resort really, as I've been stuck in a rut for years.
SSRI's to be exact.

Anyone got any advice, info, opinions, personal experiences, ETC
I think I remember hearing in passing that at least a few here have strong opinions on them, so, thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

I've had some experience here, both good and bad. Anti-depressants are a good tool to use, but never depend on them as a crutch. Every type of mood-altering drug also has different effects on each individual, so don't think that what worked for someone else will necessarily work for you. Start out slow and don't expect them to work right away. They take time to build up (sometimes over a month). And if they start to have negative effects, bring it up with your doctor immediately.

I wouldn't be afraid of using them, but definitely make sure you are using them right. You said you had a GP talking you through this, so that's good. If you aren't already, I'd recommend coupling any anti-depressant use with regular therapy sessions. Using both together is the most effective way to help yourself.

Good luck.

I've got a long history with SSRIs for anxiety and depression issues. I'm currently on Effexor XR, but I've used Celexa, Paxil, and Cymbalta in the past. For me, the sexual side effects are the biggest problem. It totally kills my libido, and can interfere with normal ejaculation. Don't be afraid to share your concerns, and thoroughly report side effects to your doctor. It may take a little time, and some trial and error to find the right one for you, but it's worth it. Good luck, and feel free to PM me if you have any other related questions.

First, you have to understand that not all anti depressants work.