Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Do I have depression / anxiety?
Hey everyone...

So just to start, I'm generally a fairly happy person, or at least try to be. I'm a full time college student and have a handful of good friends. Almost everyone I really know thinks of me as someone with a lot of confidence and a positive attitude. The problem is, I don't really feel that way about myself. Though I try, in a lot of ways I'm just very terrified of everything. I always feel like I'm going to be rejected.. like I'm never going to be successful at the things I really want in life.. like a career or a relationship.

Even though I'm good at hiding it, I'm often very nervous when simply talking to people I'm unfamiliar with. Half of the time I don't even know what to say and just feel awkward. I can do one on ones with people.. but talking in front of a group or something, even just to introduce myself is terrifying. I'm constantly nervous or worried.. and it's been getting worse. It's like I always feel like I'm going to say or do something stupid..

On top of that, I have all these things I want to do in life.. all this passion.. I love art and creating things, and writing.. but have absolutely no self confidence about any of it.. even when my work is complimented or praised. For instance.. last quarter we had to write and send an article to the editor of our newspaper. I wrote something on a current political issue that was going on at the time, and it was the only one to be published. I honestly thought it sucked and was embarrassed to even send it in..

That's just an example, but I'm ALWAYS very harsh on myself to the point where I almost see no reason to proceed with the things I'm supposedly good at.