Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Grab bull by the horns or let sleeping dogs lie?
Good evening ladles and jelly spoons,

Please bear with me through this as I'm a man who likes a good narrative.

I have a friend for whom I have unresolved romantic feelings and I have the suspicion the feeling may be mutual, although there is a chance this is wishful thinking. We met a couple of years ago through a mutual friend and we've become good friends ever since. There was a drunken night about a year ago when he made a sexual pass at me but I turned him down as he was white girl wasted. I suggested to him in the morning that we try dating but he turned me down saying he didn't want to risk losing a friendship should it not work out and that the timing was wrong (whatever that means?)

To add some context I'm a 32 year old professional and he's a 22 year old student (he finishes his studies this year). I'm 32 but I look a lot younger, people always presume I'm in my early twenties and the younger out of the two of us. I get a fair bit of attention but I believe I have a particular type of attractiveness. I'm tall, slim and 'twinky', a little feminine and fey looking, I guess. He on the other hand is tall and broad, masculine and classically handsome, the type of guy that people check out in the street. I'm reserved, logical, emotionally intelligent but can come across as aloof and cold. He's outgoing and excitable but easily distracted, a little self absorbed and quite insecure at times.

Now since that evening I've kept my feelings to myself but there are moments when I feel that he may have mutual feelings. Allow me to present a couple of anecdotes to illustrate my point...