Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
In love?
Hi all,

This is my first time here, so sorry if I break any rules.

I'm in my early 30s, and I have been dating a really great guy for 4 months.

However, I think I am beginning to fall in love with him, and I didn't expect that to happen, and now it is bringing all these feelings to the surface I am not sure what to do with. I feel very strongly in two directions. On the one hand I want to see him all the time, hang out with him, do things with him, have fun, etc. On the other hand I feel like I want to break up with him. It's a really strong feeling, and I don't know why I feel that way.

Has anyone else every felt that way? Like you love the person and yet you want to break up with them at the same time? I don't know why I feel like this. It's like two polar opposite parts of me are trying to have their way and I am undecided about what my feelings are trying to say. What should I do? Should I talk to him about how I am feeling, and how should I do it?

About us: We're intimate, we have a great sex life, we do things together, we share similar values, and we honestly care about each other. We communicate quite well and conflict handle quite well. We're both around the same age, good jobs, good prospects, etc. He's from a different culture than me.

About me: The last time I fell in love with someone who was from a different culture than me, it ended really badly. I feel like this might have something to do with it, because I got dumped around 3-4 months with the previous person and it really wrecked me.

What I get from your story is that you are afraid of commitment.

Join the club!

The fear of something ending badly can contribute to that. A lot of us don't want to admit this, but our subconscious fights against commitment when we want to keep doors open with all the other sexy options out there.