Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Natural ways to combat anxiety
I heard that eating certain foods help to balance your brain's activity, especially fruit, though I'm not sure which ones would be really effective. Stress, anxiety and mild depression feed into each other, and I deal with it a lot because I have a very active mind, but since I manage to get myself into an "OK" state of mind most of the time that I'm having these feelings, I don't feel like experimenting with medication is a good route for me to take. I have friends who have psychological disorders that are far worse than mine, and I've seen what the wrong medication has done to them; it takes more than one try to find a good balance, and often during that time, it just gets worse.

In my case, I feel that I have an imbalance of some sort. Being in college I tend to eat very little throughout the day, and most of what I eat is carbs (pasta, sandwiches, etc.) because they're cheap and fill me up easily. I also drink a lot of coffee and black tea, which surprisingly helps me to get myself back into a "normal" state of mind, but something tells me that the crash from all that caffeine is contributing to my anxiety cycle.

Anyone think this sounds legit? Is this my body's way of telling me to calm down and treat it better instead of blaming my anxiety solely on the possibility of mental illness? That actually makes it worse, I worry that there's something wrong with me all the time, if you're a worrier you understand.

I've beat this before without meds, I want to do it again. I want to get back to my old, non-worrying, anxiety-free self, it's just kind of hard to do right now with the impending stress of graduating and leaving the country. I could go on forever lol if you got this far thank you for your time Smile advice, comments, anything, I appreciate it.

Hi, Bluelight! Wavey