Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Should I Wait?
Hi everyone,

(I have never used these before, so please be patient and please help!)

I am a 27 male, who was in a relationship with a 25 male.

We have each had long term relationships in the past but this felt like something else!

We had instant chemistry, a great connection. After a few months he started asking for space. He would tell his friends how strong he felt about me but that he couldn't see me more than a couple of times a week. Despite them saying why does this rule have to exist, he couldn't explain it. So him taking space was hard.

On top of this he's starting a new business while managing the one he's already in. So this has put him under a lot of strain emotionally, psychologically and financially. He also has a bad home life. A family member is an abusive alcoholic. This meaning he has no chance for real down time at home. In the past he has also been physically and emotionally abused by his exes.

I have offered to support him and do whatever I can to help him with all of this. He has now turned round and said he cannot give me what I want or deserve in a relationship despite how amazing he thinks I am. That he is not ready. He has therefore asked if we can stay friends. After a long conversation I said I could understand and would try, but that he should know I was doing so because I would hope we would be back together again. He thanked me for understanding and we parted on good terms... we still hugged and kissed.

His friends have been in touch and said they think he has made a mistake but that he is independent and would not be swayed by them. They have said I can wait, good for me, but don't sacrifice myself as for some reason that they don't understand he is being selfish. They think I have been great for him and exactly what he needs.