Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Taking the conversation to another level....
To start of, I'm new to the gay dating scene. And I have done quite a bit of online reading... and what I've learned is that there is no one golden rule or method! But what I can't find online about is the "taking the conversation to another level". So here's my story...

I've been speaking with a guy I met online since autumn. We met for coffee at a café in february (I'm not sure if it was just a meet up or a date), it went really well (I think) and he sent me a message online later that night that he had a good time. And I replied the same, and added that I would like to meet him again and he too replied the same. The second meet up/date is coming up soon (yet to finalise when/where).

But what I've been wondering about is the conversation between us online. We chat yes, he's (I think) a shy one so he doesn't always make initiative in asking or talking (something to worry about?). I'm pretty good at keeping a general conversation alive and fun... but what I'm mainly wondering is what am I supposed to ask/talk about to take the conversation to another level as in, giving a hint that I'd like to be in a relationship with him? You know, "spice up" the conversation in a good way, without it being too "let's seal the deal" intention. Because, I think I might "miss the train" if I don't start ?stepping up my game? especially on the second meet up/date.

Let me know if this is unclear :o)

Welcome to GS!

The best way to find out is the direct way. During your next get-together, you can just ask. "Hey, this might seem a bit forward, but I'd sort of like to know where you want this thing to be headed. Are you hoping to just be friends? Friends and maybe something more? A full-on relationship? I just don't want to be working at cross-purposes here."