Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Advice on coming out...of my shell
So, I think it's time for me to finally come out of...my shell. Not the closet, I'm not even sure if I'm even in it yet.

Basically, it's hard for me to judge my sexuality because I have zero experience in romance. I'm just not a very social person in generally. I'm just a shy, quiet, socially awkward, reclusive guy who spends most of his time watching Youtube videos and playing video games. I'm lucky I don't look like one of those stereotypical overweight nerds.

I think my problem began in elementary school. I was surrounded by rowdy kids that yelled and threw stuff. My teachers would get really mad and always punish them. What I hated though was when everyone was acting crazy and the teacher would punish the whole class even when some students (like me) were being quiet and respectful. I'd keep my mouth shut, sit up straight, but all because everyone else was being stupid, I had to be punished too (nothing physical of course, just not being able to watch Shrek or something and having to do a spelling worksheet instead). But sometimes, the teacher would notice how well I was behaving and compliment me, saying "Oh I'm sorry we couldn't watch Shrek. You're a very very well behaved young boy though, not like the others." It was praise like that that kind of made me look down on everyone else. Through out my school years and even to this day, I'm always looking at people acting crazy and rebellious and I'm thinking "Thank god I'm not like them." Instead of going out to parties and clubs to dance, have sex orgies, get high, or drunk, I just sit at home playing Pikmin 3 or something. And because of that, I have no social life, because I'd actively try and avoid those people and stay isolated. And even to this day I have a hard time approaching people. I do have friends, but they all came to me, I didn't come to them. I'm lucky that I have friends at all.