Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
She made me cry.
Hi guys, me again. I told you i am in a medical profession high school. I work as an intern in the hospital. I'm in the child emergencies. Yesterday a woman with her 2 months old baby came. We had to take blood samples and she cried the whole process. After we finished the nurse went back to her desk and i stayed with the lady. I told her we did it because of her daughters good. She said ''I know, but its my first baby. You'll see when you have yours''. It hurted more than i can imagine, i couldn't tell her i am never going to have a baby. I immediately left there and started to arrange the medicines. I cried in silence, so people wouldn't notice. I am thinking about being a child doctor, i'm really good with kids and i love them but it hurts to be around them. I don't want to stay away from them but.. i don't know what to do.

Hi I believe you will make a good Doctor. Every hospital needs a good children's doctor and seeing that your good with kids your in the right place. Smile

I avoided patients that hurt me so bad I was afraid I might not be clear enough in an emergency and then would have been the one that hurt who I was so afraid of hurting.
Then I realized that in cases where I "had it" and really was the best person on the spot for them I knew I had to be the one because that is why the universe put me there in their bad time.
I still let the ones that break my heart go to someone else and watch over 'em unless that little thing in us tells me "It's you man, don't let 'em down"
After 30 years I can tell you - in medicine, you're gonna be cryin' a lot. Most of the time privately, sometimes not and even sometimes as a group. Let it happen. We have no real answers, only hands, hearts and that "instinct" that makes us respond. Stop crying and your heart will drown and die ~ let it out Smile
See?