Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fear of oral presentations
Hi everyone.

So I am currently studying at the University and some courses require oral presentations. The thing is that I hate them. I hate this forced public exposure. This fear stems probably from the fact that I was bullied at high school (and I have very low self esteem) and because I hate my voice.
As I will not be able to escape this time, would you guys recommend a way to alleviate the terrible fear the day of the presentation? For example, would you suggest any natural tranquilizers (apart from valerian which does no good to me!). I need something really strong (but no chemicals!).

I know for sure that I do not want to make oral presentations a part of my career. I will never like them. So no counseling will do me good because all I want to do is skip them whenever I can.

Thanks in advance.

Lonelysoul Wrote:I know for sure that I do not want to make oral presentations a part of my career. I will never like them. So no counseling will do me good because all I want to do is skip them whenever I can.

There's no need to make oral presentations part of your career; not is it necessary to like them. You don't need counseling. You're just like most people. It may stem from being bullied, or it may stem from being human. I don't recommend taking a tranquilizer, natural or otherwise.

A few years ago I was president of a small organization in my town. At our first get-together, I knew that it was my responsibility to make the announcements, but I chickened out. I had someone else do them for me. The next month, I steeled myself and did them myself. Doing the announcements once a month, within a few months I started to relax with it, and within a year, I didn't have any trouble at all anymore.