Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help in long term relationship...
Ok so this is my first time posting on a message board....

But I guess I just needed some advice on what to do with my relationship. Have been going out with a guy for about 8 years - first person I've lived in a relationship with.

I guess I'm not quite sure what to do. Truth is he;s always been more into me than the other way round. Haven't really had a problem with it but sometimes I wonder if I'm in the relationship more for him than for me. The problem (if it's a problem) is that he's a really really nice guy who I generally get on very well with. We have good (if infrequent) sex, he's pretty good looking etc. But I was thinking about how almost all the best times in my life have been when he isn't there. It's almost like I can't really be the real me when I'm around him. When I'm out with my friends I'm the life and soul of the party and just having a great laugh. When he's there, I always feel that I need to look after him as he's much more shy. As a result I change. And we're not really into the same music. I love sport, whereas he hates it. I get paid more (if only a bit), I'm more ambitious etc. whereas I think he's just happy as is. I feel like a total cock saying this but sometimes I kind of look down on him. Not that I think I'm better but I guess it's like I just want something more.

The truth is I'm feeling a bit trapped. I feel I have no right to moan as finding a decent guy isn't easy and essentially I've got a good one. Part of me is worried that if I leave him, I'll never find anyone as good. Besides, I don't want to hurt him for the sake of it.