Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is it my fault my Cousin passed away?
Im terribly sorry for your loss. Losing a family membee or someone close is tragic and upsetting. Let me first say, it is not your fault. I can tell you this because i am a full time Paramedic. I run a lot of pts where this sort of thing happens, and the family membera always feel guilt. Here is an example that i have been a part of. I got called to a cardiac arrest pt in the afternoon one day. The patients wife left to go to the grocery store and when she came back she found her husband on the ground unresponsive. She called 911 and my Medic unit was dispatched to the patients residence. Statistics say that every minute you are without a pulse and apneic (not breathing) a 10 percent chance of life is lost. The brain is very vulnerable without oxygen and can make a descent recovery.after 4-6 minutes.. Anything after that there is a chance for brain damage. This poor lady blamed herself for going to the grocery store. She felt that her husbands death was her fault because she wasnt there for him. Unfortunately our patient was down for too long and we werent able to get him back. One thing i try and explain to people is that it didnt matter what you did, that patient was going to have a heart attack regardless if she decided to go to the grocery store or not. im not saying that i belive in predestination but from a medical aspect of things, tje body can only take so much before it shuts down. As good moral people when tragedy happens we always reflect and think about what we could have done differently to fix or prevent something from happening. for example, im sure that if the patients wife had known that her husband was goingvto have a heart attack, she wouldnt have gone to the grocery store. And im sure the same is in your case. We just dont know when tragedy will strike. Its okay to to mourn for your loved ones loss, but dont blame yourself. Hang in there brother, stay strong

Ryan.