Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Trying to feel better about things... advice?
As always, I have my good days and bad days, but in the past few years, I've been very aware of how far behind I am when it comes to basic life. Granted, I feel way more comfortable with myself now than when I was in high school, but I'm still kind of figuring out how to socialize, I still feel awkward and insecure lot of the time, I have no experience with dating, barely any experience in the job field etc.

I know I shouldn't let it bother me too much, but it does, it kills me when I'm reminded that my friends are further ahead than me, as they always have been. I guess I expected to be caught up by now, but I'm still behind, and I'm starting to feel like I always will be. I guess that in itself isn't so bad, but I'm afraid that I might be wasting my youth, just like I wasted my teenage years, and it's a big source of anxiety for me right now. It just kind of makes me feel "left out" if you will. Not to mention I keep attracting the wrong people, and I've been told that I don't look approachable, among other things. I try to look positive, but what am I supposed to do? Walk around with a permanent grin on my face? I can't help the way I look.

Basically, it's been a tough, confusing year. Some people praise me for my looks/personality, while other people tell me that I'm cold/unapproachable. And then there's me, I really don't know what I think about myself. I try to praise and embrace myself, and it does work sometimes, but other times, I just feel incapable of giving myself the support I need, and as embarrassing as it is for me to admit, I am pretty vulnerable to being judged, even though I know that what other people think shouldn't matter.

I know that there are other people out there who have been where I am now, so if you are one of those people, please tell me what you did to get yourself out of this. I'm open to any advice, thank you for reading.

-Bluelight