Rate Thread
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to protect yourself from any STI’s when dating/hooking up
Hey gays, It’s me again! Im just asking how to protect yourself from sexually transmitted diseases or safe practices in general. Been reading about it for quite awhile now but I’ll appreciate more insight as I’m a beginner with zero experience when it comes to dating or hooking up.

Precautions:

1) Get tested every 3 months if you are regularly sexually active.

2) Get your HEPATITIS and HPV vaccines.

3) Use condoms if you wish.

4) Take Prep if you are having anal sex. But remember Prep only protects against HIV and nothing else.

Do not make the mistake of thinking that Prep protects against other STIs. It does NOT.

5) Remember that you are never completely free from the risk of catching an STI.

You can take all the precautions and still catch one.

STIs (except HIV) are just infections. You've had infections before right? Our bodies are fighting them all the time and 99% of the time we don't know it. Cold. Flu. Stomach viruses. Etc. Infections.

There is NO shame about catching an STI.

All STIs (except HIV) require a course of antibiotics.

6) There is very little risk in catching HIV through oral sex but it is NOT 0 risk. Your partner has to have a detectable viral load and you have to have bleeding gums/cuts/sores in your mouth in order to catch HIV through oral sex.

7) Remember, the key here is EDUCATION.

STIs are not "gay diseases" nor "shameful diseases".
Gay people are NOT the danger.
Promiscuous people are NOT the danger.
UNEDUCATED people ARE the danger.

Know the risks, and you can know the precautions to take.
Know your health.

If you don't get tested, then you don't know your health, then you are uneducated. THEN you are the risk.

8) If you catch an STI, abstain from sex for 2 weeks or until you finish your treatment.

9) If you catch an STI, tell the partners you've had. Be open, so they can get tested.